Superfluous Quandaries.

November 21, 2013

Today as I was walking to my mom’s house to pick up her car for work, I had a thought.

If I could spend the day/afternoon/whatever with any musician, who would it be? 

I internally parceled through a small list of contingencies, like would this person have to be alive, what sorts of things would be appropriate to talk about, and where we’d possibly want to hang. (The last of course, differed with each musician.)

My mind immediately erased certain possibilities (Joni Mitchell, for one) because of all I’ve read of her/others I’d thought about, we seem to have little in common. That became a sticking point, I wanted to hang with them as people  not just musicians. I kept trying to avoid grooves in the sidewalk with my feet, while concentrating heavily on this question.

Who -would- I like to hang out with?

The obvious answer for me at least, is Janis Siegel. (Because she’s my favorite singer, and she’s totally rad!) But the more I got to think about what I wanted out of this potential encounter, the more I thought it would be fun to hang out with someone like Bobby McFerrin. I would honestly just let him talk at me about music theory. It would be simply divine. Laurel Massé also came to mind, just because I love how she writes about religion. I would love to have a conversation with her about her favorite bible verses, and get her perspective on living thoughtfully.

Before I came to the conclusion that I’d prefer if this person (or persons) were still alive, I thought about asking Carmen McRae how she came to approach phrasing in such an innovative way. Which, afterwards I realized would be a hard question to even answer, so I rephrased it in my brain as a question that’s more like, “what gets you excited? What makes you want to sing?”

I also just thought about unwindulaxing with Liza Minnelli. How rad would that be? I’d love to just hear her talk about how she’s able to infuse her life with such positivity. Her optimism tickles me pink. Or, if we’re going to wander down that road: how about Bette Midler? I feel like because her twitter is bloody hilarious, I’d probably require some sort of adult diaper just to be safe.

I thought about Cher, or Bernadette Peters; I thought about musicians I’d like to meet just so I could punch them in the face(Jimmy Buffet& Taylor Swift); powerhouses of the early 2000’s to now (Beyoncé, Rhianna); but I couldn’t really come up with a good answer.

It was certainly a nice way to occupy my walk, but after awhile it started to majorly stress me out! I still don’t know who I’d like to choose!

What about you? If you could hang out with any living musician for a day, who would it be?

Leave a Reply

