Day(s) 01, 02, and 03:

July 23, 2013

I’ve kind of let the ball drop on doing the 30 day meme, but I can’t say I didn’t warn you about my likelihood of doing so in the first place.

Day 01: Introduce yourself.

My name is Mac, the three television characters that most represent me are Christine Cagney from Cagney and Lacey; Susan Lewis from E.R.; and Dorothy Zbornak from the Golden Girls. (Because I’m stubborn, unsure of myself, and relentlessly sassy.) Coffee and cream make up the contents of my bloodstream, I like writing about hospitals, and it takes me a long time to go to sleep at night because that’s the only time my brain is clear enough to fully imagine things. When I was growing up, I went through a phase of loving to read, hating to read, and realizing that I just needed to find the right book to hold my attention. One of my favorite people/good friends taught sixth and seventh grade, and then became a librarian; and even she couldn’t get me into reading.

I earnestly enjoy the Lawrence Welk Show (JO ANN CASTLE HOLY CRAP), I’ve found that keeping insulin syringes around is handy for other stuff besides diabetes (namely getting out splinters), and I’m the type of person who always has a song stuck in their heads. (Right now it’s “I’m Late” by Billinski). I’m not very good at videogames, I’m really good at writing sassy teen girls, and currently my right ring fingernail is ingrown. (As of this morning. OUCH.) I’ve been trying to keep a big girl blog over at bittaterrific.com, but I’ve found that what makes me happiest are solipsistic flights of fancy. …asshole alert, I know.

Janis Siegel is my favorite lady singer, (with Joni Mitchell in a close second; Carmen McRae and Blossom Dearie are tied for third) Paul Simon is my favorite dude singer. Divaville is the best radio show ever, because vocal jazz really gets my bones excited. I feel like Gilda Radner and Madeline Kahn are my older Aunts (think: Jet and Frances from Practical Magic) a lot of times I’ll imagine us hanging out and drinking coffee together.

I like picking favorites of things because then when people ask me what my favorites are, I have an answer right away as opposed to wasting their time. (Hannah and Her Sisters is my favorite movie, Dianne Wiest is my favorite actor, The Manhattan Transfer is my favorite band, and magenta is my favorite color.)

I also don’t know how to start and end things very well, and it often irritates my anxiety.

So I suppose this is the end of day one… hahaha

Day 02: My first love, in great detail.

This question seemed a bit invasive at first, but I think it’s because I was taking it at face value. (I have had a major unrequited love situation going on for the better part of my life, which I don’t really care to discuss, lest the aforementioned party find this blog somehow…)  The first things that honestly came to mind when I thought about first loves were the following:

  1. Sharon, Lois, and Bram’s Elephant Show
  2. Lucille Ball

The first, cemented my deep love of tight harmonies and full female voices. I started watching TES when I was really young, and I remember loving all of the adventures they went on through Toronto. What sticks with me the most is the episode called “Three Bears.” (I went as Sharon’s character, Baby baby baby Bear for Halloween last year!) Chuck Mangione is their special guest for that episode, and the four of them get together and sing the alphabet. I’m sure it sounds really dumb, but after loving that episode so much; it’s no wonder I fell head over heels for vocal jazz later in my life!

Lucille Ball was my first real positive female role model. I remember her determination really resonating with me. She always wanted to be in Ricky’s shows, and even though she was rarely successful, things always ended up alright. Lucille Ricardo was the first person I tried to imitate with my writing. I heard her voice, and tried my best to translate it to the page. (Not to mention, Lucille Ball is a fucking ROCKSTAR amirite?)

03. Your parents, in great detail:

I don’t feel like talking about my actual parents, so I want to talk about my acquired parents instead.

Julie: was the first person I decided I wanted to be my friend (who was my parents’ age). She was my sixth and seventh grade teacher, and I was pretty much infatuated with her. She seemed to have her life together (unlike my parents who fought a lot) and she had a very colorful wardrobe. Throughout high school, I emailed her so much it’s ridiculously embarrassing. What I love about her though, is that even though she’s like, thirty years older than me, we are always on the same wavelength. (Seriously though: one time I put some of the lyrics to Chattanooga Choo Choo as my facebook status and she posted the next ones right away. SWOON.)

Lee was my second surrogate mother. My dad was essentially begging her to meet me because I was failing school one year during NaNoWriMo, and she happened to be the executive editor of a lit mag. Last year I housesat for her through all of August, and I’ve spent a considerable amount of time with both her, and her family. She’s quite lovely, and has been really kind to me! Once, when we were getting drinks with my friend Bridget, Lee told me that she thinks of me like a daughter too, which was really great to hear.

Cathy: went to high school with my dad. Through some random chain of events, they ended up reconnecting, and through some other random chain of events, the two of us ended up speaking more than they did. I like hanging out with Cathy because the two of us make art together, and cheer each other on with our hobbies. We like to get breakfast and then go scope out Goodwill every so often. It’s nice to be able to talk to someone who knows my actual parents really well, so when I relay stories it’s easier for her to understand what’s going on.

I had a few others that I wanted to add to the list, but our inability to see each other after our paths had initially crossed made it too difficult. (Mostly they were to busy or preoccupied with other things, which I completely understand. I seem to gravitate towards busy people for some reason… Hm….)

Anyway… here you go for today…

Leave a Reply

