Ew.

April 13, 2013

I was just thinking about something. One day, one of my housemates and I were talking about our favorite singers. I was explaining to her that Janis Siegel has my heart always.

“All those people,” my housemate said, “and you pick her? Why?”

I was confused. Why? WHY? ONCE I SAW HER PLAY A TRUMPET SOLO WITH HER FIST! Or how about she’s Jon Hendricks personal mentee and sang with Ella Fitzgerald, and how Blossom Dearie always spoke very highly of her? 

“Why not someone like Kate Bush?” She said.

I like Kate Bush, but I LOVE Janis. (Ok, I love Kate Bush too.)

Let’s be real: no one knows who Janis Siegel is. This fact to me is a shame because she’s made every top twenty “best vocal jazz artists” post I’ve ever seen; and, she may not be as well known as Ms. Bush, but she’s been nominated for almost twenty grammies, which says something, right?

This exchange got me thinking: we defend our favorites to the death. Whether or not they light up the joy center of our peers (hahaha…none of my peers give two shits about Janis) we try and manipulate their joy centers to try and “get it.” Right now I’m listening to all my Janis albums and working on an art project for tomorrow. Earlier, I was listening to Kate Bush.

It’s weird to me to think that someone would wonder why I woud like something so bizarre as opposed to you know, someone who has a lot of technical merit and is a really brilliant singer; but who just isn’t my favorite singer.

I don’t know what this post is even about. You can all go home now.

~*~*~*~*~*~

Leave a Reply

