rub your dick on that shit.

October 1, 2012

I had an interesting discussion with my kinda-sorta this evening. (First of all, I don’t think he knows he’s my kinda-sorta, but we’ve been chilling like, every. single. day.) Anyway, he was giving me shit for not liking “real” music, because I’m big into sample based electronica and acid jazz. Honestly, we can’t *all* have every Beatles album… I got to thinking though– his argument / position on the subject was that bands should create albums, not songs. On the flip side, I don’t really give a shit WHAT bands do, because the microcosmic elements in specific songs are often enough for me. (IE, his idea is that an album is a piece of art, and my idea is that a song can be a stand alone piece of art and doesn’t need superfluous validation by being a puzzle piece in something bigger than itself; yadda yadda yadda….)

It got me thinking though, because lately my musical obsessions have been groups or singers that are more performance artists than strictly musicians. Maybe not that persay, but their work is very high concept as opposed to *just* being music for music’s sake. Kate Bush, for example, made an entire album about winter recently, and the title track “50 Words for Snow” is literally someone reciting 50 different words for snow, and her singing along, counting down the numbers, and encouraging him to keep going. Janelle Monae’s latest album is supposedly a story about cyborgs. (ALSO, SEGUE: JANIS SIEGEL IS SUPPOSEDLY COVERING SOME OF JANELLE’S WORK ON HER NEXT ALBUM AND I AM V. STOKED.)

In the last few weeks I’ve been really intrigued with a South African group called Die Antwoord. Their beats are really catchy, their lyrics are silly (I fink you’re freaky and I like you A LOT) come to find out, they started out as performance artists! I love this, because I feel like the majority of American bands who write songs that are super outrageous take themselves way too seriously. I mean, there’s no way Ke$ha can wake up every morning feeling like P-Diddy; but I’ll bet she’d do it if it brought in the Benjamins… In any case, I think it’s awesome how much of a mockery Die Antwoord makes of the current state of hip-hop. Don’t get me wrong, the underground scene is b.l.o.w.i.n.g up, (CURREN$Y YES PLEASE) but the majority of rap/hip-hop is really superficial these days.

In any case, I present to you, xp€n$iv $h1t. A song that doesn’t need an entire album to prove its worth.

Leave a Reply

