illumi-NOT-i.

July 26, 2012

Things that have happened since we last spoke:

Listens of Stan Getz’ cover of “Wives and Lovers”: 15

Rolls of Fuji Portra shot: 1

Chapters of epic Cagney and Lacey fic completed: 1

Cups of Coffee: 40

Episodes watched of the X-Files: 12

Times I’ve almost peed my pants driving: 3823894732894729342

Accidents had: 0. (THANK. GOD. ‘-.- )

The President was in town the other day, which caused about 3823894732894729341 of the afore mentioned driving related pants-peeing incidents.

My brother tried to convince me that the Illuminati was behind the recent shootings in Colorado. No. I’m sorry. The Illuminati is bullshit. #kanyeshrug.

What I’d really like to talk about is how watching the X-Files makes me really glad I majored in screenwriting. Articulating my feelings is a lot easier, and pin pointing what I like and dislike about it in an eloquent way is super handy. Maybe not worth 100k, but none the less useful. I’ve been enjoying it thus far, though admittedly I wasn’t a fan of the “monster of the week” format they had going, so I skipped most of season one and went straight in to season two. I liked that it was clear right off the bat who each character was, and that the exposition was very minimal; but we got enough back story to understand what makes Mulder and Scully tick.

Here’s the thing:

I cannot fucking STAND the idea of space aliens. I don’t care about them, they don’t interest me, and I’m apathetic about their supposed existence. That aspect of the show makes me groan. A LOT. I’m digging this whole “What’s up with Krycek why is he such an asshole” arc, I’m interested in Cancer Man, and I think it’s awesome that Mitch Pileggi lives in Portland. (More excited that I spelled his name right without having to spell check. AIR FIVE, ME!)

In any case, I’m sticking this show out because sexual tension in crime procedurals is like, the best thing ever. (Uh, Cagney & Lacey [debatable], SVU, and Crossing Jordan anyone?)(All of which I’ve seen almost every episode of…DERP.)

Here are a few shots from my roll of Portra.

I hope everyone’s having a lovely summer!

This is where I live. It rains a lot here, and Mitch Pileggi is maybe my neighbor.

I like taking pictures of coffee, because it’s tasty and wonderful.

My sister and my mom’s cousin at Saturday Market.

The sunset was quite pretty that day…

My mom had just gotten fresh alstroemerias.

Aileen took this super derpy picture of me. EL-OH-EL.

Off to nerd out and watch some more of TXF.

PEACE.

 

Leave a Reply

