night fever

March 10, 2012

You know what I hate? People stealing other people’s photos on tumblr, or weheartit or flickr or some shit and then taking it upon themselves to deface the picture with sappy indie lyrics. You know what I’m talking about– how many times have you been scrolling through your dash, only to find some sentiment from the Postal Service over a faceless, waifish looking Joni Mitchell girl with unnaturally natural wavy hair. DRIVES. ME. NUTS.

So, I had this thought today in Powell’s. I was listening to the Bee Gees, and a lyric came up: say you’ll always be my baby / we can make it shine / we can take forever just one minute at a time… How many of these photoshop toting youngsters would know it’s from the Saturday Night Fever soundtrack? Probably a ghastly few. BUT: how many of them would agree with the bullshit sentiment? Probably quite a lot.

Here’s a series of photoshop hack jobs. The rub is, each picture has some sort of disco or soft rock atrocity as the lyrical reference. I’m going to post the non-obvious ones on tumblr and see what happens…

More Than a Woman – The Bee Gees

Laughter In The Rain – Neil Sedaka

Hello It’s Me – Todd Rundgren

Close To You – The Carpenters

Kid Charlemagne – Steely Dan

I Just Want To Be Your Everything – Andy Gibb

The Hustle – Van McCoy

Baby Come Back – Player

Emotion – Samantha Sang

You’re Having My Baby – Paul Anka (truly one of the most revoltingly hilarious songs I’ve ever heard…)

Kung Fu Fighting – Carl Douglas

     All photos were taken by me, except the ones of me which were taken by Jiwon. (I am in weird-ass Halloween makeup.) I have yet to make one for Smooth Operator, I think that’s my one glaring omission. Aside from maybe putting in some awful dance songs of the 90’s etc…. Cha Cha Slide anyone?

Leave a Reply

