Prompt (1)

February 6, 2012

I wouldn’t go so far as to say I’ve been in a rut– I don’t have writer’s block, I’ve just lost desire to write. Today I went on a spree, looking for any & all writing prompts. Charlotte gave me an ER fic prompt which I intend to fill, just for shits and giggles, I’ve been reading Mary Oliver’s “A Poetry Handbook” (which is delightful, if not intimidating), and jotting random thoughts in my real journal; but none of that seems to count. Well, count in quotations, because I’m not really doing this for anyone else.

I found a long list of random prompts so I’m going to bastardize a few and try to get back on track. Really what I need, is a list of words or concepts. BUUUUT we are not going to worry about that. The following entry, (and the entries after) are going to be free writes.

Memoir Prompt – Answer the following: Do you have a mentor? Are you a mentor for someone? Tell about your relationship.

For Your Children

I hadn’t surmised if you’d actually enjoy electronica

I hadn’t surmised that I was obsessed with you, either.

It went a little like this: the CD was blue.
It encapsulated what I was good at
At that time.
(Which was finding clever ways to avoid
the penis drawing mandate we had in class.)

You are all over the place. 
You say to me one day.
I’ll take that.
My priorities are elsewhere.
I think of being at camp.
SO MUCH DRAMA.

This is where it goes:
I am in trouble.
I am on swim team.
I am allergic to chlorine.
(oops!)
My cell phone rings,
can can canyoudothecancan
“I think that’s yours.”
You say.
So it is.

I hum that song,
Dirty Water.
Walking down the hallways
looking for you.
We talk for a brief second.

I MADE YOU THIS
I say.
I DON’T KNOW IF YOU’LL LIKE IT.
I am thinking.
HERE’S MY EMAIL
You say.
(Mistake #1).

Hey.
Hey read this.
Hey, hey.
Guess what random shit I did today.
Hey, hey, hey.
My parent’s are getting divorced.
ENJOY PUDDLE JUMPING
You say.

I NEED YOU
I think.
I MADE YOU THIS.
WE DON’T ALLOW VISITORS.

Come to this retirement party!
You say.
Alright.
I HAVE A SON, HIS NAME IS BEN.

Hey.
Hey I’m leaving for college.
Hey, hey.
Let’s hang out or something.
Hey, hey, hey.
Sorry I’m so bad at emailing you,
my dog died.

Sometimes I think you don’t hear me.
But you do.

You say,
Have some chai.
I say,
I can drink now, let’s do this shit for real.
You say,
Should we get coffee? Too much?

I am biting my nails.
I have a new box.
For all of this energy.

Last year I text you on your birthday.
This summer we sat in the shack.

You need this.
You say,
It’s good.
You say.
Work for Ellen.
You say.

Something in me wants to sit by the fire pit
and smoke marijuana with my brother.
Not move, not do new things.
Just be in my skin.
Stay in my skin.

I have a pile,
you say.
Of all your things.
you say.

And I remember,
the CD is blue.
It was the first one I ever made.

Leave a Reply

